The Schwäbisch Gmünd Prize
for Young Scientists

In the spirit of the mission of east, the Schwäbisch Gmünd Prize has been established with the purpose to encourage promising young scientists.

The mission of the European Academy of Surface Technology (east) is to promote Europe-wide science, research, training and education in the field of surface technology and related areas in order to contribute to the integration, understanding and friendship between European people and individuals.

The prize is given in the name of the town Schwäbisch Gmünd, where east has had its headquarter since its foundation in 1989. The town of Schwäbisch Gmünd has always been a strong support for east and has a long tradition of craftsmanship of precious metals. The Schwäbisch Gmünd Prize was given for the first time 2017, but is going to be awarded every year to promising young scientist.

The Schwäbisch Gmünd Prize 2018

consist of a sum of 500 Euro, a diploma and an electroformed silver unicorn statuette. The prize winner is expected to give an invited talk at the east forum 2018 from 27 - 29 June 2018 in San Sebastián, Spain. Travel costs will be covered.

Who can apply?

The applicant must be active in Europe and hold a university degree. The applicant might be a PhD student or hold a PhD degree not older than 2015. There is no age limit, but the applicant should be in the early stage of his/her career.

The criteria of evaluation

will be based on originality, creativity and excellence in surface technology. The experience of the applicant will be taken into account, meaning that expectations are higher for e. g. a post doc than a PhD student.

The application

should be based on published research and should contain a published peer reviewed paper with the applicant as main or co-author, and a motivation letter (of maximum 5 pages in total) containing:

  • Personal presentation (short CV)
  • Motivation on how the paper meets the criteria of the prize
  • Description of the applicant’s contribution to the paper
  • Description and motivation of the applicant’s future ambitions within surface technology


The jury will this year be led by
Prof. Dr. Imre Bakonyi
Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary

Other members of the jury are:

  • Prof. Dr. Evangelia A. Pavlatou
    Technical University of Athens, Greece
  • Prof. Dr. Nevenka Elezovic
    University of Belgrade, Serbia
  • Prof. Dr. Frank C. Walsh
    University of Southampton, United Kingdom


The application should be mailed to no later than 13 December 2017.
On no later than 20 December 2017 the applicant will receive a confirmation of receipt from east.

Download all Information

All information are available for download.


April 2017

Dr. Jin Zhang prize winner 2017

The Schwäbisch Gmünd Prize for young scientists 2017: Dr. Jin Zhang

Dr Jin Zhang receives the certificate for the Schwäbisch Gmünd Prize for Young Scientists and an electroformed silver statuette of a unicorn symbolising the city arms of Schwäbisch Gmünd. As head of the jury Professor Pietro Luigi Cavallotti (right) presented the jury’s motivation.

The Schwäbisch Gmünd Prize for Young Scientists 2017 was awarded to Yin Zhang from the Autonomous University of Barcelona , Spain, for her work on electrodeposition of magnetic, superhydrophobic, non-stick, two phase Cu Ni foam films and their enhanced performance for hydrogen evolution in alkaline water media. After the prize ceremony, Dr Zhang gave an excellent invited talk on her research subject.

Paper: “Electrodeposition of magnetic, superhydrophobic, non-stick, two phase Cu Ni foam films and their enhanced performance for hydrogen evolution in alkaline water media” Nanoscale 2014, 6, page 12490.

get in touch

european academy of surface technology (east)

Katharinenstrasse 17
D-73525 Schwäbisch Gmünd

phone: +49 (0)7171 1006 301
fax: +49 (0)7171 1006 54